
Dear Lord, Give me the greatness of heart to see the difference between duty and his love for me. Give me understanding that I may know, when duty calls him he must go. Give me a task to do each day, to fill the time when he's away. And Lord, when he's in a foreign land, keep him safe in your loving hand. And Lord, when duty is in the field, please protect him and be his shield. And Lord, when deployment is so long, please stay with me and keep me strong. Amen.
Monday, September 12, 2011
She did it!!!

Friday, September 9, 2011
BATH TIME
But while we were home in WI, Izzy did not have her whale bath tub, so she got to have a bath in the big bath tub! Here she is for her first real bath in the big tub at Grandma and Grandpa's house! She had quite the audience as my grandma, my mom and dad, Katy, and Brandon were all there to watch this big event first hand!
Click on the link to watch the video:
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/mie8o8mm3n7FGuCThfREoGqBLeaJuiPJ7cRx8oZ_wG0?feat=directlink
The whale tub has been packed away and bath-time is always in the big tub!
Bath-time is so much fun for her and for us!!
Izzy Update!!
~LOVES LOVES bath time
Thursday, August 4, 2011
2 months old ALREADY!!
I can't believe it, where has the time gone.
Here she is only 5 days old!
Fun because we got her weight and length. She is 10.1 lbs and is in the 72%! Her length is 21.9 in. and she is in the 54%. I thought the percentile for length would of been higher just because she seems so long to me! We were told that she looks extremely healthy and everything seems to be working good for her. We were told though that we could start feeding her an extra ounce now!
I also got to ask a lot of questions. This was the first time we actually got to meet her pediatrician and I really liked her. A lot of my questions probably seemed silly to her, but she answered them and never once made me feel stupid for what I was asking. She took her time with us and never once made us feel like we were wasting her time! Some of the questions I pretty much knew the answer to, but I just felt better hearing it from her. Weird maybe but at the same time I don't care because I need that reassurance!
One of my questions was is she gaining weight to fast? And the answer was no. Most babies lose a little weight after they are born, but not our Izzy! She is a gaining machine! Her doctor reassured us that her weight is proportional to her length and that she looks very healthy! The doctor also told us that you find with babies that are born under 6 lbs that they tend to gain weight faster and that is just because they are catching up. She also said that Izzy could of been a 9 lb baby and that at 2 months old she doesn't weight much more than that, so that I should not worry about, that she is just right! I felt better after hearing this because all I hear from people is how big she is! She seems big to me, but I also saw her when she was born and she was just a little peanut! And she is still our little peanut but she is starting to get rolls and fill out more! Which I am super excited about because I just love baby rolls!
The terrible part was of course the shots! I honestly could never do that job. I have no idea how anyone can do it! I have never seen or heard Izzy cry as hard as she did! It broke my heart and made me sick to my stomach! The nurse was very good and tried to go as fast as he could to get it over with. But it was not fast enough! After the first shot I was ready to pick her up and run away with her as fast as I could! I HATED seeing her hurt! But thankfully Joey was able to be there! I would of gotten through it without him but just having him there made everything so much easier!
After she calmed down from this traumatic experience she was so exhausted. And she slept for 2 hours but than out of the blue she just woke up screaming. She ended up having a minor reaction to one of the shots. Her little leg got all red, swollen, and was very hot to the touch! She screamed for almost 2 hours straight and it was TERRIBLE. I felt so HELPLESS because nothing I would do made it better and it almost seemed like I was hurting her more. But I called the doctor and was told to put a cool compress on her leg and to massage it. And after doing that and giving her some more Tylenol she seemed better!
Overall, it was an emotionally draining day! And I am so not looking forward to the next round of shots! But I have 2 months to try to prepare myself for them!
Wednesday, August 3, 2011
Thursday, July 28, 2011
An Izzy Video
So here is Izzy in real time!!
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/VPHHdJT-TbvJwKmjnjHQKE1rgmurLYsEW1B0eunqxpg?feat=directlink
Thursday, July 21, 2011
~My Labor~
On Thursday, June 2nd, my due date, I woke up feeling different. The pressure was more intense and I just felt different. But I was not going to get my hopes up. So I went on a nice long walk and than got ready for my doctors appointment. I was very anxious for this appointment, hoping that she had some good news for me. She checked me and I was 80% effaced and still at 1 cm. She stretched me to 3 and said that my body was very much ready to have a baby. We made an appointment for me to get induced in a week, but she was very optimistic that I would not go that long. She even hinted that she would be surprised if I didn't have a baby by this weekend. I left feeling pretty good and excited! But knew that I shouldn't get my hopes up because if it didn't happen soon I knew I would of been so disappointed.
So the rest of that afternoon I kept busy, I went for another walk, talked to both moms, and after Joey got done with work we ran some errands. It was just another uncomfortable typical pregnant day for me.
But around 7pm, is when it all began.
Dinner was in the oven, Joey was in the shower, and I was cleaning up all the water on the floor from the dogs, when all of a sudden I felt a small gush of water. I dropped the mop and ran to the bathroom. I knew in my head at the time that this was different, that I had not had an accident. But it also wasn't what I had read about if you water breaks. And because I did not want to get to excited, I played it cool. I told Joey and he was like well lets just see what happens. Well, not even 15 minutes later the contractions started. And WOW were they intense! And started off 10 minutes apart.
So, still trying to be calm, I ate a little dinner and than decided to go and take a shower. And while I was in the shower the contractions were constant. I could not keep track of them on my contraction app I downloaded on my phone. They literally were one after another.
While I was in the shower, Joey was getting all the last minute things together. Including going over to our neighbors house to fill them in and let them know the situation as they were going to be watching the dogs for us! By the time I got out of the shower we pretty much had decided that we should go to the hospital, but it was April our neighbor who really convinced us to go!
My fear was I did not want to go and get sent back home as I heard that happens a lot, especially at the hospital we were going to.
When we got to the hospital a little after 8, we found out that they had no beds available. We were told to go and wait in the waiting room and that in a few minutes someone would come to talk to us. We were also told though that if my water broke or if I felt like I needed to use the rest room, that Joey should come and get someone right away. When we got to the waiting room there was another woman waiting who told us she had been waiting for over 4 hours. I just remember looking at Joey and saying that I won't make it 4 hours.
About 30 minutes passed when I finally told Joey that he needed to go and get someone because I had such strong contractions and a super strong urge to use the bathroom. Almost immediately they found us a bed in triage. A nurse came in a checked me and said I was only at 3 cm but was going to run a test to see if my water broke. I was told that if the test came back negative that they would send me home! Well after some time passed Joey started to get upset because I am in major pain and no one is coming to tell us anything, so he goes to get someone. And we find out that my water did break! But they had no rooms available and they just found out that a hospital 30 minutes away could take me. We were told it was up to us whether we wanted to drive or go via ambulance. Joey was like ambulance.
So again we WAIT....and all I wanted was an epidural!! But was told I could not have one until I was admitted. I was given on my lower back 4 injections of sterile water to help with my back labor, which honestly did nothing. Joey, AGAIN, went to go get a nurse to find out what was happening because I seriously needed to use the bathroom. A nurse and a midwife came in and I again was checked, now I was 5 cm. And this is when the scramble began because now I was not safe to transfer. This was also when they set up the monitor to monitor Izzy. Which was a good thing because several times her heart rate would drop and I would have to switch positions.
So it went from me having no attention to what seemed like a million people in the small triage area we were in. I was again checked and I went from 5 cm to 9 cm and than it was an all out scramble. All trying to figure out what to do with me and the entire time I just kept asking for an epidural, which I never got! Than I was checked again and was now 9.5 cm. More scrambling and before I knew it I was being wheeled to a delivery room and talked to by the anthologist.
Once we got to the room where I ended up delivering I was put into many different positions because of Izzy's heart rate. I felt like I did a lot of pushing and I honestly believed I have never worked so hard in my life. And I remember after my first real push that I just expected her head to be out already but that was so not the case. As I was told I had a ways to go but that I would have a baby that day. I think I ended up pushing for about 45 minutes and had NO epidural!! I honestly can't believe I did it. It was one of the most painful things I have ever been through and honestly at times I did not think I was going to be able to push her out! In the end it was all worth it though.
Izzy was born at 1:48 AM with the cord wrapped around her neck 2 times and a very tight knot in the cord. She was also very pale with a bluish tint to her. Joey was able to cut the cord but it was done so fast and I remember one of the NICU people yelling, "if dad is going to cut he needs to do it now!" And as soon as the cord was cut she was taken. I did not get to see her or hold her until probably 45 minutes after she was born. I was able to hold her for about a minute before they took her to the NICU to run some tests and monitor her for awhile. Overall, she was in the NICU for about 3.5 hours. Which was pretty much the entire time it took them to stitch and clean me up! When we finally got to our room, we were told that she was on her way down to us! And she has been with us ever since!
At the time it seemed like everything was taking forever but in the end it really was a very short time and it did go by fast. And I am so glad it went by fast because I honestly don't think I would of been able to handle it otherwise.
Joey was absolutely amazing and super supportive! I could not of done it without him and his yelling to motivate me! The nursing staff was also amazing as they kept me calm and really out of the blue as far as what was all going on with Izzy. Had I known what I all know now I think I would of been a basket case!
In the end, we were blessed with a beautiful little girl who is just so amazing. Everyday I look at her and I am amazed first that she was in me and second that we made her! Truly a miracle and one of the best gifts God can give anyone!
The Wait is OVER....
Wednesday, June 1, 2011
Birthday Boy!!!
He can play fetch all day long!
Tuesday, May 24, 2011
The Nursery!!
I had this turtle in my room when I was a baby! Thanks mom for keeping it! Who would of thought I would be hanging it in my baby's room!! It was just meant to be!
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Waiting......
We are...."Waiting for the fish to bite or waiting for wind to fly a kite. Or waiting around for Friday night or waiting perhaps for their Uncle Jack or a pot to boil or a better break or a string of perals or a pair of pants or a wig with curls or another chance. Everyone is just waiting."
Well, I have been waiting to get pregnant for awhile and with being pregnant there is a lot of waiting involved. First, you are waiting to see if you are late for your period, then you wonder how long you should wait before you buy a home pregnancy test. You finally get the test and you have to wait to get the results, which isn't long, but long enough when you are anxious. You wait for your first doctors appointment. You wait for the 2nd trimester to get here so that your chances of miscarring are less and you usually start to feel better. Waiting for the 20 week mark to get your first ultrasound and possibly find out the sex of your little miracle. And the waiting just goes on and on.
Well now I am 38 weeks and 5 days and I am ANXIOUSLY WAITING for our little Izabelle to arrive! This has to be the hardest part of all the waiting you do in your pregnancy. Sure I know my due date is June 2nd, but it is not set in stone as that is when she will arrive. She could arrive any day now and the not knowing is killing me. It is all I can think about. And since this is my first baby, I really don't know what to all expect. Sure I read and read about how I should be feeling but everyone is different. I just wish I knew when she was going to arrive because I am tired of waiting. I just want to hold her in my arms and not in my stomach anymore!
38 Weeks exactly on this picture!
So on that note, Ms. Izabelle~WE ARE ALL READY FOR YOU TO ARRIVE!!!
Wednesday, April 20, 2011
Update!!
- I am 34 weeks tomorrow.
- I started my maternity leave early and I am very excited about that! Hopefully I will be able to enjoy these last few weeks and get us and the house ready for a baby!
- Joey is incredibly busy at work and is working very long hours.
- I was able to go home in March and help throw Katy a Bridal Shower. It turned out really nice and it was so good to be home and see all of our family.
- I had an ultrasound this past Monday and everything looks good. My placenta has moved so I am out of the danger zone. Izzy is 4lbs 13oz, taking breathes on her own, and making lots of big movements (which I could of told them that). She also looked like she was either sucking on her fingers or her thumb. So cute and I just can't wait to see her!!!


Just a few little tidbits as far as an update goes! That is the most current anyways. Hopefully now that I am on maternity leave I will have more time to post!
Saturday, January 22, 2011
Pregnacy!!!
For me being pregnant has not been so wonderful. Don't get me wrong by saying this, I just have had a more difficult time and of lately it is getting to be more enjoyable, but I still would not say I love it.
Some of my difficulties(just to document them because I have not so far!):
- First, I will say that my due date falls at a not so convenient time and has caused me to stress and worry. Which I know is silly because I can't change anything. But by golly gee I really want to be at my sister's wedding!
- Being sick for about 3.5 months sucks! I felt like I literally had the stomach flu for the entire time. And then on top of that I would get cold sick as well! Spent some time in the ER and lots of doctor visits. Finally, after all this they finally gave me some antibiotics. I am glad that they are cautious but seriously I was hurting so bad, that I could put it in the same category as when I broke my arm and had to have surgery!
- I went from being an active person to basically a couch potato. I had no energy, even when I stayed home from work. But when I worked I was so exhausted I could not do ANYTHING! It was hard because I couldn't understand how I changed basically overnight to a completely new person. I was not Melissa and wondered where she went and if I was ever going to come back. During this 3.5-4 month period I honestly thought I was going to have to quit because I knew if it stayed like this I would not make it till June! I have never missed so much work in my life! But, I am very lucky I work at such a wonderful school with wonderful people who were very understanding!
- I really could not eat or drink much. I went from water being my main drink to not being able to stomach it without gagging! But if I drank juice, even watered down I would get really shaky. Soda did not taste good. So I worried about becoming dehydrated. I also really had no appetite and everyone who knows me knows I LOVE food! I went from obsessing about food to getting sick just thinking about it. The only things that ever sounded really good to me was anything super salty, but then I would get thirsty and not know what to drink! And then I would worry that I was not eating and giving the baby nutrients it needed to grow! I just couldn't win!
- CONSTIPATION!!!! Need I say more really. But I will. I am not a very regular person anyway and struggle with this issue. Which is one of the reasons why I drink Diet Mountain Dew. The caffeine definitely helps me with this problem. Well I was told NO CAFFEINE at my first appointment, especially in the 1st trimester. So I did what I was told, but man was I constipated! Which just made me even more uncomfortable.
- BODY CHANGES!!! Once again people who know me, know I struggle with this issue. Yes I know it is because I am pregnant, but in the beginning you don't look pregnant, you just feel fat and bloated. Some days, I felt like I was a balloon and couldn't figure it out because I was eating less than I probably ever have in my life. I know some of it was my imagination but still. And on top of that my boobs which are already big have turned into melons! My shirts are tight because of my boobs, not my belly but my boobs!! And they hurt so bad in the beginning! Joey would look at them and it would hurt. And of course, I have gotten many comments about them and about how huge they are-like I already didn't know this!! I sure hope that after I am done breastfeeding they go back down to my normal size which I would be so thankful for!
- Lastly, can we say EMOTIONAL!!! I am already a very emotional person but now I am like 100 times more so! Poor Joey, because for those 3.5 months he got snapped at and yelled at for really nothing at all, but just because he was there. But he was SO WONDERFUL through it all and never snapped back, just took it!
So, pregnancy is wonderful huh?
People who have enjoyed it probably had a much smoother start and for them I am very happy. Because the start of my pregnancy was not fun and I would not wish my experience on my worst enemy.
But about a week into my 2nd trimester I did start to notice a change and am so grateful for that. Because I know that some woman have been sick the entire 9 months and have had a lot worse. So grateful I am.
- I have more energy!
- I am back to being a little more like myself. Still incredibly emotional, but Melissa has come back, not completely but mostly.
- We are once again getting home cooked meals, laundry is being done(not really folded but we have clean cloths), I take walks again with Joey and the dogs, we can actually go out and do stuff now without worrying about if I will get sick or to tired.
- I am back to working full weeks again. And when I get home I still have energy to take a walk, cook dinner, and just enjoy my family.
- I am starting to have a baby belly and not just a bloated belly!
- Still constipated but not quite as bad. I am back to drinking my Diet Mountain Dew, just small amounts, but I think it is why I am not as constipated!
- I can eat again and drink water!!! I don't really crave salty foods anymore, now I just want brownies, Cheetos, Mexican food, and really anything that is NOT healthy!! Oh and I love milk again. I can't get enough of it.
- I am sleeping better for the most part. Instead of getting up 4-5 times to go to the bathroom, it is usually just once. And I am enjoying this because I know that will change again!
So things have started to look up for me and I am SO happy about that! Because now I can start to enjoy pregnancy. Enjoy the fact that I am caring a miracle. And it is our miracle that we created. About 2 weeks ago I started to feel some movement and now I am feeling it all the time. We have a mover and shaker on our hands.
We went for our 2nd trimester ultrasound and found out we are having a girl! She was a major stinker and would not stop moving. So the technician had some trouble getting her measurements. But so far she looks very healthy and her heart rate is very strong when she stops moving long enough so they can get it!
So as of right now I can't complain. I am feeling good and have a healthy baby girl growing inside me. I have a wonderful husband who has been so AMAZING throughout this all. Has stood by me and lets me lean on me. When I was sick and a couch potato, he didn't complain, not once. Just took over all the household responsibilities and more! This was the first time I was basically out of commission and for a while. And he just proved to me what I knew all along that he would take care of me and everything else! I had complete confidence in him and that made it all just a little bit easier. It also made me realize that no matter what we are a team and when one of us is struggling the other just picks up where the other person left off! I also had great support from all our family and friends! So very grateful for every ones continued support and prayers!
