Saturday, January 22, 2011

Pregnacy!!!

Yesterday, a co-worker told me she just loved being pregnant! I looked at her and was like really?
I have heard people say many times how they loved being pregnant and wish they could be all the time. Well now that I am pregnant, I am very jealous of those woman who REALLY enjoyed it.


For me being pregnant has not been so wonderful. Don't get me wrong by saying this, I just have had a more difficult time and of lately it is getting to be more enjoyable, but I still would not say I love it.

Some of my difficulties(just to document them because I have not so far!):
  • First, I will say that my due date falls at a not so convenient time and has caused me to stress and worry. Which I know is silly because I can't change anything. But by golly gee I really want to be at my sister's wedding!
  • Being sick for about 3.5 months sucks! I felt like I literally had the stomach flu for the entire time. And then on top of that I would get cold sick as well! Spent some time in the ER and lots of doctor visits. Finally, after all this they finally gave me some antibiotics. I am glad that they are cautious but seriously I was hurting so bad, that I could put it in the same category as when I broke my arm and had to have surgery!
  • I went from being an active person to basically a couch potato. I had no energy, even when I stayed home from work. But when I worked I was so exhausted I could not do ANYTHING! It was hard because I couldn't understand how I changed basically overnight to a completely new person. I was not Melissa and wondered where she went and if I was ever going to come back. During this 3.5-4 month period I honestly thought I was going to have to quit because I knew if it stayed like this I would not make it till June! I have never missed so much work in my life! But, I am very lucky I work at such a wonderful school with wonderful people who were very understanding!
  • I really could not eat or drink much. I went from water being my main drink to not being able to stomach it without gagging! But if I drank juice, even watered down I would get really shaky. Soda did not taste good. So I worried about becoming dehydrated. I also really had no appetite and everyone who knows me knows I LOVE food! I went from obsessing about food to getting sick just thinking about it. The only things that ever sounded really good to me was anything super salty, but then I would get thirsty and not know what to drink! And then I would worry that I was not eating and giving the baby nutrients it needed to grow! I just couldn't win!
  • CONSTIPATION!!!! Need I say more really. But I will. I am not a very regular person anyway and struggle with this issue. Which is one of the reasons why I drink Diet Mountain Dew. The caffeine definitely helps me with this problem. Well I was told NO CAFFEINE at my first appointment, especially in the 1st trimester. So I did what I was told, but man was I constipated! Which just made me even more uncomfortable.
  • BODY CHANGES!!! Once again people who know me, know I struggle with this issue. Yes I know it is because I am pregnant, but in the beginning you don't look pregnant, you just feel fat and bloated. Some days, I felt like I was a balloon and couldn't figure it out because I was eating less than I probably ever have in my life. I know some of it was my imagination but still. And on top of that my boobs which are already big have turned into melons! My shirts are tight because of my boobs, not my belly but my boobs!! And they hurt so bad in the beginning! Joey would look at them and it would hurt. And of course, I have gotten many comments about them and about how huge they are-like I already didn't know this!! I sure hope that after I am done breastfeeding they go back down to my normal size which I would be so thankful for!
  • Lastly, can we say EMOTIONAL!!! I am already a very emotional person but now I am like 100 times more so! Poor Joey, because for those 3.5 months he got snapped at and yelled at for really nothing at all, but just because he was there. But he was SO WONDERFUL through it all and never snapped back, just took it!

So, pregnancy is wonderful huh?

People who have enjoyed it probably had a much smoother start and for them I am very happy. Because the start of my pregnancy was not fun and I would not wish my experience on my worst enemy.

But about a week into my 2nd trimester I did start to notice a change and am so grateful for that. Because I know that some woman have been sick the entire 9 months and have had a lot worse. So grateful I am.

  • I have more energy!
  • I am back to being a little more like myself. Still incredibly emotional, but Melissa has come back, not completely but mostly.
  • We are once again getting home cooked meals, laundry is being done(not really folded but we have clean cloths), I take walks again with Joey and the dogs, we can actually go out and do stuff now without worrying about if I will get sick or to tired.
  • I am back to working full weeks again. And when I get home I still have energy to take a walk, cook dinner, and just enjoy my family.
  • I am starting to have a baby belly and not just a bloated belly!
  • Still constipated but not quite as bad. I am back to drinking my Diet Mountain Dew, just small amounts, but I think it is why I am not as constipated!
  • I can eat again and drink water!!! I don't really crave salty foods anymore, now I just want brownies, Cheetos, Mexican food, and really anything that is NOT healthy!! Oh and I love milk again. I can't get enough of it.
  • I am sleeping better for the most part. Instead of getting up 4-5 times to go to the bathroom, it is usually just once. And I am enjoying this because I know that will change again!

So things have started to look up for me and I am SO happy about that! Because now I can start to enjoy pregnancy. Enjoy the fact that I am caring a miracle. And it is our miracle that we created. About 2 weeks ago I started to feel some movement and now I am feeling it all the time. We have a mover and shaker on our hands.

We went for our 2nd trimester ultrasound and found out we are having a girl! She was a major stinker and would not stop moving. So the technician had some trouble getting her measurements. But so far she looks very healthy and her heart rate is very strong when she stops moving long enough so they can get it!

So as of right now I can't complain. I am feeling good and have a healthy baby girl growing inside me. I have a wonderful husband who has been so AMAZING throughout this all. Has stood by me and lets me lean on me. When I was sick and a couch potato, he didn't complain, not once. Just took over all the household responsibilities and more! This was the first time I was basically out of commission and for a while. And he just proved to me what I knew all along that he would take care of me and everything else! I had complete confidence in him and that made it all just a little bit easier. It also made me realize that no matter what we are a team and when one of us is struggling the other just picks up where the other person left off! I also had great support from all our family and friends! So very grateful for every ones continued support and prayers!